Skip to content
May 10, 2010 / nicotvandenberg

Canon Picture Profile Test

Halfmoon Bay and the Canon 7D

This following weekend I traveled down from San Francisco to Halfmoon Bay in order to do some more outdoor photography. I was testing out a new picture profile that was originally created by Vincent Laforet, and given to me by Rob Ruscher (Sharpness 0, Contrast -2, Saturation -2, and Color tone 0). It was a nice medium between Canon’s stock Picture Profile “Neutral,” and Picture Profile “Superflate.” I was very please how well this footage color corrected, which I know may sound funny because you can color correct almost anything to look a certain way. But my point is that this footage in post didn’t require extensive work, I was able to push, pull and crush any colors I wanted. Take a look at the video and let me know what you guys think.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. robruscher / May 10 2010 10:38 am

    nice. “originally created by Vincent Laforet, told by Rob Ruscher” haha. Looks good. I’m getting some footage together with the same profile. Seems to be a winner so far.

    • nicotvandenberg / May 10 2010 10:45 am

      Haha thanks man. I will fix that. You deserve the credit for that too! Look forward to seeing what you have shot so far on that Picture Profile.

      • robruscher / May 12 2010 6:46 am

        i appreciate the shout out. i am probably going to dc this week or weekend to test out some new equipment so ill have something up soon. let me know when your back in the area

  2. Great Director Sky / May 13 2010 3:45 pm

    I like the overall saturation. The opening shot was beautiful.

Leave a Reply

